Different Pond Different Fish “Please Be Quiet”

Posted on August 18, 2009

0


When I studied in UNSW, Sydney during 1999-2000, I spent my Monday mornings teaching Music at the Pinangsia Indonesian Kindergarten in Ranwick. Although the kindergarten was an Indonesian school, we had to use English when teaching because the students were no longer speaks Indonesian fluently. One Monday morning, because the class was so noisy, I said “Please shut-up”. I wanted them to be quiet. To my surprise on of the students asked me, “How long have you been studied English?” I was shocked. I answered it honestly. I had been studying it for years since I was elementary school. Later on my fellow teacher explained that I should use ‘Please be quiet’ instead of ‘Shut-up’. The students thought I was being rude. I was so embarrassed. I will be more careful next time.

Taken from Look Ahead SMA 1 by Th. M. Sudarwati cs. 2005:42

Posted in: articles