Tetanus Vaccination: First Rough Draft

Posted on October 27, 2009

0


This is the draft for Writing IIIA’s assignment. I’m still working on it.

Tetanus Vaccination

by Dita Surya Kartika

“The vaccination will protect you from certain disease. Tomorrow you will have Tetanus vaccination. Also, your blood will be examined to know your blood type. Don’t worry and don’t be scared, the examination is fast and you won’t get hurt. Remember to eat a lot before you are examined by kind doctors. See you tomorrow. Class dismissed.”

That ended my teacher’s explanation. I ever been vaccinated, so, I did not afraid anymore. But, at that time I never had been examined to know my blood type. There were plenty of imaginations in my mind, from good to bad one, from the best reality scene to the worst imagination.

The next day. I went to school as usual. Then the examination time came. The teacher called all of second grade students to go to the school infirmary. I was one of them.  I waited at the infirmary bench. Bored. Then I looked at my friends beside me. One of them is my classmate. She sat upon the bench, the same as my bench. Her face was pale and turned down. Cold sweats were streaming down to her neck. Her hands downed to her thighs and squeezed her skirt. Slow but sure, she burst into tears. Back to myself, my heart was pounding faster and faster. I began to scratch my cheeks, a bad habit when I am nervous. I wanted to run but I cannot. A lady on white uniform appeared from the examination room and announced a name, a very familiar name.

“Dita Surya Kartika, please come in!”

“Y…yes, Mam. Wait a minute!”

I walked slowly towards the room. The lady accompanied me entered the room. The room was small. The lighting was neither dark nor bright. I saw the blue curtains waved along with the zephyr. On the room there were two beds, two chairs, and one cupboard. A nurse directed me to one of the beds. I agreed since I could not do anything.

“I will give a Tetanus injection first and the blood type examination will be held by the doctor there,” the nurse pointed at the doctor, sat at the corner of the room. Then she took the injection from the aid box. Her fingers danced at the injection’s seal and threw it to a bin near the cupboard. She dug the aid box once again. Less than thirty seconds her right hand was holding an ampoule. Her left hand held a bottle of alcohol. She ordered me to fold my sleeve. So, I did it. I folded my left sleeve and released my arm to her. She scrubbed my arm with alcoholic-cotton. Cold. Yes, it was cold. The smell of that liquid disgusted me. And the needle came. Actually I did not afraid of needle, but, this needle was successfully made my blood rustled. My heart was hoping up and down. Yet the needle entered my skin.

“Stop trembling. This wouldn’t hurt,” said the nurse. Then the needle entered my skin. It was like biting something inside my skin. But, that is all. Nothing special. I recalled again my memories. There was no injection that put me into tears. That was childish. Yes. So I wrote in my mind about that day as another usual vaccination day.

But the story was not yet reached the end. The doctor waited me at the corner of the room. His bright but cynical eyes suddenly gave me gloom. His arm waved at me. I approached him with silent, slow steps. This would be a long, long day…

Posted in: short stories