Leaving Out Some Materials

Posted on April 18, 2013

0


Hi, long time not writing on this blog.

This is a continuation from the previous post where I left out my notes about Formalism approach.

This morning, I submitted the whole content of my thesis, that is, Chapter 1 until 4. This draft was made within 8 months. Sure I took a long ass time to make them. Honestly, I pretty happy with the outcome. I hope my thesis supervisor feels the same way as me, too. There are many left-out drafts from the final draft I submitted. It is ranging from unusable terms/phrases/sentences to theories.

As far as I know, there is no one who takes a same approach as me in my majors. The analysis uses inductive method. It tries to look for the general idea from specific ideas while most of the undergraduate thesis here tries to prove certain ideas in specific research objectives. I did not take a long time to search for necessary references but took a very looooong time to understand those masterpiece journals. Anyway, I adore those professors. They all twisted my mind with their writings. I am inspired. However, the most important thing right now is that I wish I understand the journals correctly.

Sorry, I got too carried away with my own difficulties when writing it. Ah, yes, I’d like to share a left-out theory. Previously, I wanted to insert a theory called “Johari Window” in my second research objectives’ analysis. Almost at the end of Chapter 3’s writing process, I deleted that part. I felt that part complicates my analysis. It’s nice to have that in, sure, but on a second thought it would be better if I analyse that on a different paper.

This cut part I’m talking is only 403 words. It was initially included to explain the protagonist’s personality from the self and society awareness point of view. Too lazy to recite what it’s all about again,  I copasted here:

———-

This personality mapping is well explained by Joseph Lutt and Harry Ingram. They “developed the Johari Window as a model of awareness for group processes” (Luft, as cited by Kormanski, 1988, p. 148). Although this diagram was originally designed by psychologists, through the journal written entitled “Using the Johari Window to Study Characterization” by Luethel M. Kormanski in Journal of Reading, Vol. 32, No. 2 (Nov., 1988), Johari Window can be used to analyse the author’s devices for evoking emotional responses so that it is become apparent to the reader. Let’s look at the diagram below:

The Johari Window:

The quadrants as four parts of self

1

The open quadrant
or public self

Information that is shared by the character, the other characters, and the reader.

2

The blind quadrant
or blind self

Information known by the other characters and the readers but not perceived the character being analysed.

3

The hidden quadrant
or private self

Information known only by the character; can only be inferred by the other characters and the reader.

4

The unknown quadrant
or unknown self

Information unknown by the character, other characters, or the reader; must be inferred by the reader.

Fig. The Johari Window (Kormanski, 1988, p. 149)

Because of the characteristics of Fitzgerald in delivering stories, i.e. describes the characters’ activities and thoughts a lot, the Johari Window helps the readers to classify the information to perceive the whole characteristics of a fictional self.

By applying this strategy, the alterations of a dynamic character will become more visible to spot on. The readers will look for open exchange information between the individual and others (quadrant 1), the individual mannerisms, verbal cues or the style in which the individual relates to others (quadrant 2), hidden motives or sensitive feelings, thoughts and reactions (quadrant 3), and unconscious references (quadrant 4). In relation to Formalism, this supporting evidence can be used to determine the author’s preference in characterization. Thus, making it apparent what devices he used to construct a unique sjuzhet.

A close examination of Sally Carrol’s reactions to her surroundings reveals that she wants to be perceived as a different, one-of-a-kind, young lady in her vicinity. She initially declines the “South conservative trait” by going to the North and marrying a Northerner. However, later on the readers will see her ideology’s downfall due to the unexpected reactions of the North, be it the people or the weather.

 ———-

Some ideas managed to not get cut off from the draft. However, I needed to alter them a little to remove the quadrant’s part. Although, as explained, it’s still passing the criteria of Formalism approach, I am not too sure I got approval since this carry a little too much of psychological approach. Now now, I don’t want to work out on this theory globally for the other two short stories. That’s another valid reason to drop this. I didn’t even list it to my Literature Review. It’s one of my sudden idea incoming in a random day. I remembered I ever read some psychological theories that might be appropriate to further elaborate the issue. And when I decided to look for references related to literature… ta-dah! a very appropriate journal appeared! Um… then I read it. Then I got hooked at it. And the above draft was written.

We can still develop this idea. It can be intrinsic or extrinsic analysis based on what the devices you choose to analyse. If you analyse poetic devices, for example imagery like mine, it belongs to intrinsic analysis. When you choose to analyse outer references then it becomes an extrinsic analysis. As a theory, it waits for us to be used. Hopefully, this blog entry will spark ideas and discussions. I’m looking forward to your writings. See ya!

References:

Fitzgerald, F. S. (1960). Babylon Revisited and Other Stories. New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons.

Kormanski, L. M. (1988). Using the Johari Window to Study Characterization. Journal of Reading, 32(2), 146-152. Retrieved from the JSTOR database.

Posted in: journals